STOCKinRUSSIA'10

The II International Conference STOCKinRUSSIA’10 "Stock photography in Russia" took place in Moscow during October 9-10th and opened its doors both for stock contributors and consumers of stock content. As the organizers of the Conference had promised, STOCKinRUSSIA’10 turned out to be more scale and interesting in comparison with the previous year.

STOCKinRUSSIA'10

An exceptional event for Russia took place at Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki hotel, covered two full days and pleased all the attendees with a large amount of different info – starting with a detailed analysis of the situation at stock photo market, finishing with a quantity of applied recommendations and advices.

Registration Registration Registration Registration

Altogether around 250 people took part in the II International Conference, which was organized as a year before by the team of PressFoto stock agency. Attendees and speakers had come not only from all parts of Russian Federation, but also from the Ukraine, Belorussia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Australia and USA. As a year before, "Digital Photo" magazine became the general media-partner of the Conference, and their colleagues from "PhotoMasterskaya" magazine took part as the official media-partner. This year a partnership support to the conference was given by NBZ group of companies (authorized Apple reseller) and Wacom Russian representative office. Both companies had provided computers, monitors and graphic pads for master-classes and gifts for the lottery among participants of the Conference. Such services as netPrint.ru and PRINTBOOK.ru gave a great support in terms of publishing various materials.

First session Participants make a notes NBZ Computers's display Elnur Amikishiyev

Lee Torrens, the founder and the author of one of most informative internet resources about stock photography Microstock Diaries, was the first to make a presentation and take numerous questions from the audience regarding the situation at stock market. During his presentation “Trends, Threats and Success in Microstock” Lee Torrens had covered all the latest trends and issues in microstock and the wider stock photo industry (including distribution, disintermediation, exclusivity and survival of a little guy) and had promised a number of serious changes at stock market during the next year. According to Lee Torrens, the market will see an uprise in the quality of stock content, thus forcing out amateurs and individualists progressively. The same progressively awaits local stock agencies, which will be able only to survive in comparison with large companies.

Lee Torrens's presentation Lee Toorens answeres the questions

Especially from the United States of America had come famous professional stock photographer Jonathan Ross, one of the top twenty highest paid photographers in the world of stock according to Getty Images, working successfully both at Micro and Macro. During the first day of the Conference Jonathan Ross (together with his charming producer, professional photographer Laura Marchbanks) caused joy to all the attendees with his panel “How to produce a maximum amount of stock photographs during one shooting day”, which was devoted to all the nuances of their team work. Jonathan Ross had spoken in details on how to create a shot list and how to get the most out of the shooting day by pre planning and scouting your location. Jonathan had demonstrated a typical shot list that was followed by photos from a shoot using such a technique. In conclusion, he wished best of luck to everyone, also predicting serious changes at stock market in the nearest future.

Jonathan Ross's presentation Jonathan Ross and Laura Marchbanks

A number of other intriguing things were discussed during the first day of the Conference STOCKinRUSSIA’10. As a year before, all the attendees were glad to see the presentation of highly productive stock photographer Elnur Amikishiyev (Baku, Azerbaijan), whose main labour activity is not connected with photography by the way.

Elnur Amikishiyev Conversation between Michael Lavrenov and Alexey Sizov

During his panel "Every stocker's 10 best friends: a list of purely known programs and instruments for effective work in stock industry" Elnur had demonstrated a number of interesting, rarely used instruments, which nevertheless could speed up or essentially simplify the work with stock photographs.

Jonathan Ross communicates with the participants during the coffe-break Participants Lee Toorens answeres the questions during the coffee-break PressFoto's pop up

These three speeches were followed by two discussion tables. The first one - "Stock content sales: looking for growing opportunities" – was held with participation of Fotolia (presented by Lyubov Tsepkova, Director of Strategy, Russian region) and Image Source (presented by Lewis Blackwell, Director of Strategy for IS).

Participants of the discussion table 'Stock content sales: looking for growing opportunities' Lewis Blackwell(Image Source) è Lubov Tsepkova(Fotolia) Questions and answers session Participants

Hot disputes were aroused by the theme of the second discussion table "Stock photographers and consumers of stock content: face to face". Tough questions from the audience were adressed to the chiefs of photo departments of the largest Russian publishing houses and media holdings: Valeriy Dzyaloshinskiy ("Burda" publishing house), Elena Mirskaya ("Independent Media Sanoma Magazines (IMSM)" publishing house), Elena Sivolap ("Bauer Media" publishing house), Alexander Sidorov ("Expert" Media Holding) and Anna Pavelieva ("AFS" Publishing House). All the experts had admitted consumering stock content for their professional needs: some publishing houses and media holdings use just a very small volume of stock imagery due to the specific character of their editions, some companies consume a significant amount of stock content that had doubled during the last year. At the same time, all the experts made several remarks of material significance, which came mainly to the critical lack of imagery, reflecting Russian reality at all its demonstrations, and to the low quality of stock content in general.

Participants of the discussion table 'Stock photographers and consumers of stock content: face to face' Alexander Sidorov Questions and answers session Elena Sivolap answeres the questions

The first day of the event was finished by the evening cocktail. During it a number of gifts from the partners of the Conference were raffled among the participants, including several editions of new photographer’s guide "Photo studios of Moscow 2010" (given by "Art up" publishing house), a license software PaintShop Photo (from COREL), tripods JOBY Gorillapod, Lowepro gear and graphic pad BAMBOO (from WACOM company).

The raffle The raffle Participants Valeriy Dzyaloshinskiy during the coffe-break

The second day of the Conference STOCKinRUSSIA’10 was opened by the informative master-class of Jonathan Ross. Together with his producer Laura Marchbanks they had demonstrated their astonishing skills and techniques of effective shooting based on a shot list; had shown a great deal of lighting schemes, how they make things moving and cooperate with a model. During and after the master-class Jonathan Ross and Laura Marchbanks had patiently answered all the numerous questions from the audience.

Jonathan Ross's master-class Jonathan Ross and Laura Marchbanks during the master-class Jonathan Ross makes a shot Laura Marchbanks during the master-class

Jonathan Ross was followed by Alexey Sizov, art-director of PressFoto production studio. During his master-class "The secrets of PressFoto’s photo kitchen: how to create an outstanding stock content practically from a scratch", Alexey Sizov had demonstrated the total cycle of creation of variously themed commercially successful stock photographs made in a studio with one model using minimal resources (starting with make-up and finishing with a slide show of selects ready for uploading).

Alexey Sizov's master-class Konstantin Igoshev(PressFoto) tells about retouching

Judging by the interested faces of the attendees and their hands that were making notes right along, no one was left indifferent to the things said and shown during two days of the Conference. In particular, everybody was glad to have an opportunity of informal communication with old acquaintances, guests and speakers of the event. Important thing is, that all the communication was done face to face and at most cases individually. For those who does not speak English good enough, simultaneous translation was organized during the panels and master-classes.

Once again we’d like to thank kindly all the participants and partners of the II International Conference!

SEE YOU AT STOCKinRUSSIA’11 IN THE AUTUMN OF 2011!

STOCKinRUSSIA'10

Leading speakers

Lee Torrens - the founder and the author of one of the most informative internet resources about stock photography Microstock Diaries (Australia)
read more
Jonathan RossFamous professional stock photographer, presenter of master-classes and conferences (USA)
read more
Alexey SizovPressFoto production studio, art-director (Russia)
read more
Elnur Amikishiye is one of the most productive stock artists in the world.
Read more >

General photopartner
 

With the participation
 

General media-partner
 
Corel

Technical partners
 


 

Official media-partner
 
Lowepro


 


 

Media Support
 
Lowepro


 


 


 
HP Photo Club 37 PhotoNews

ОТЧЕТ О КОНФЕРЕНЦИИ STOCKinRUSSIA'10

9-10 октября 2010 года в Москве состоялась II Международная конференция STOCKinRUSSIA’10 «Стоковая фотография в России», принять участие в которой смогли не только любители фототворчества, интересующиеся им еще и как средством заработка, но и потребители стоковых изображений.

Зал Конференции STOCKinRUSSIA'10

Как и обещали организаторы, STOCKinRUSSIA’10 получилась еще более масштабной и содержательной, чем год назад. Незаурядное для России мероприятие состоялось в гостинице Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki, проходило на этот раз уже в течение двух полноценных дней и порадовало всех собравшихся множеством самой разнообразной информации – от всестороннего анализа ситуации в сфере стоковой фотографии, до множества прикладных рекомендаций и советов.

Регистрация на конференцию Регистрация на конференцию Регистрация на конференцию Регистрация на конференцию

Итак, в работе II Международной конференции, организатором которой как и в прошлом году выступил Фотобанк PressFoto, в общей сложности приняли участие порядка 250 человек. Участники и выступающие съехались не только со всех уголков России, но также из Украины, Белоруссии, Азербайджана, Бельгии, Австралии и США. Уже по доброй традиции генеральным медиа-партнером конференции выступил журнал Digital Photo, а статус официального медиа-партнера взяли на себя коллеги из «ФотоМастерской». Партнерами мероприятия в этом году также выступили компании NBZ Computers и WACOM, предоставившие оборудование для проведения мастер-классов, а также сервисы Netprint.ru и printbook.ru, осуществлявшие печать раздаточных материалов конференции.

Первая сессия Участники делают пометки Стенд компании NBZ Computers в фойе мероприятия Эльнур Амикишиев

Первым дать ответы на многочисленные вопросы, касающиеся положения дел в стоковой индустрии, выпало Ли Торренсу, создателю и автору одного из самых авторитетных новостийно-аналитических интернет-ресурсов о стоковой фотографии Microstock Diaries. В своем докладе «Тенденции, угрозы и успех на микростоковом рынке» Ли довольно четко обрисовал самые последние тренды, пообещав существенные перемены, ожидающие стоковый рынок уже в ближайшем году. По словам Ли Торренса, рынок так или иначе ждет значительное повышение качественного уровня изображений, что приведет к постепенному вытеснению с него одиночек-любителей. Аналогичная участь постепенно уготована и небольшим фотобанкам, которые смогут лишь выживать на фоне своих крупных собратьев.

Доклад Ли Торренса Ли Торренс отвечает на вопросы

Специально из Соединенных штатов в Москву прилетел широко известный фотограф-профессионал Джонатан Росс, который входит в ТОП-20 самых высок ооплачиваемых стоковых авторов в мире по версии Getty Images и успешно работает как в макро-, так и в микростоковом сегментах рынка. В первый день конференции мастер своего дела с более чем 20-летним стажем порадовал участников своим докладом «Как создавать максимальное количество стоковых фотографий в течение съемочного дня», посвященным всем тонкостям работы его команды. Джонатан Росс детально рассказал о порядке работы со всеми участниками съемочного процесса, продемонстрировал пример составления успешного плана съемок и воплощения его в жизнь. Чаще он снимает не в студии, а на местах: члены команды Росса договариваются с ресторанами, стоматологическими клиниками и другими заведениями о бесплатной съемке в обмен на качественные фотографии. Уже в зависимости от выбранного места продумывается концепция будущих съемок. В заключение, Джонатан Росс напутствовал всех собравшихся самыми добрыми пожеланиями, также пообещав при этом серьезные изменения на стоковом рынке.

Доклад Джонатана Росса Джонатан Росс и Лора Марчбэнкс

В первый день STOCKinRUSSIA’10 было озвучено еще много любопытного. Как и в прошлом году, собравшихся порадовал своим выступлением крайне производительный стоковый фотограф из Баку Эльнур Амикишиев (чья основная трудовая деятельность, к слову сказать, отнюдь не связана с фотографией).

Эльнур Амикишиев Беседа Михаила Лавренова и Алексея Сизова

В своем докладе «10 лучших друзей стокера: набор малоизвестных программ и инструментов для эффективной работы на стоках» он поделился рядом интересных инструментов, которые могут существенно ускорить и упростить работу со стоковыми изображениями, значительно экономя время и усилия фотографа.

Джонатан Росс беседует с участниками конференции во время перерыва Участники конференции Ли Торренс отвечает на вопросы во время перерыва Стенд фотобанка PressFoto

После обеда вниманию участников были предложены два дискуссионных стола. Первый из них прошел с участием представителей фотобанков Fotolia (на вопросы участников ответила директор по развитию на российском рынке Любовь Цепкова) и Image Source (его представлял директор по стратегическому развитию Льюис Блэквелл) на тему «Продажи стокового контента: ищем возможности роста».

Дискуссионный стол с представителями стоковой индустрии Льюис Блэквелл (Image Source) и Любовь Цепкова (Fotolia) Ответы на вопросы участников Участники конференции

Горячие споры вызвала тема второго дискуссионного стола «Фотографы и потребители стокового контента: лицом к лицу». По «ту сторону баррикад» отвечать на достаточно жесткие вопросы участников пришлось руководителям фотослужб крупнейших российских издательских домов и медиахолдингов: Валерию Дзялошинскому (ИД «Бурда»), Елене Мирской (ИД «Independent Media Sanoma Magazines»), Елене Сиволап (ИД «Bauer Media»), Александру Сидорову (Медиахолдинг «Эксперт») и Анне Павельевой (ИД «АФС»). Эксперты признались, что все они, так или иначе используют в своей работе стоковый контент: у кого-то объем потребляемых стоковых изображений совсем невелик в силу специфики их изданий, а у кого-то этот объем – весьма существенный и за прошедший год почти удвоился. Вместе с тем все эксперты высказали ряд существенных замечаний, сводившихся главным образом к острой нехватке фотографий, которые бы отражали российскую действительность во всех ее проявлениях, а также к довольно слабому качественному уровню представленных на стоках работ в целом.

Дискуссионный стол с представителями издательских домов: Анна Павельева, Александр Сидоров, Елена Сиволап, Валерий Дзялошинский и Елена Мирская Александр Сидоров Вопросы из зала Елена Сиволап отвечает на вопросы

Первый день мероприятия завершился вечерним коктейлем, во время которого были разыграны призы от партнеров мероприятия: справочники "Фотостудии Москвы 2010", предоставленные издательством Art Up, комплект лицензионного программного обеспечения PaintShop Photo от COREL, штатив JOBY Gorillapod, фотосумки Lowepro, а также графический планшет BAMBOO от компании WACOM.

Розыгрыш призов от партнеров мероприятия Розыгрыш призов от партнеров мероприятия Участники конференции Валерий Дзялошинский во время перерыва

Второй день STOCKinRUSSIA’10 открывал информативный мастер-класс Джонатана Росса. Вместе со своим продюсером Лорой Марчбэнкс (являющейся по совместительству практикующим профессиональным фотографом) они на практике продемонстрировали свое умение эффективно строить работу, придерживаясь четко спланированного съемочного плана, добиваться неожиданных световых схем с помощью самых разных источников освещения, достигать по истине неподдельных эмоций модели и фиксировать их.

Мастер-класс Джонатана Росса Джонатан Росс и Лора Марчбэнкс во время мастер-класса Джонатан Росс делает кадр Лора Марчбэнкс во время мастер-класса

Эстафету Джонатана Росса подхватил арт-директор продакшн-студии PressFoto Алексей Сизов, который в рамках своего мастер-класса «Секреты фотокухни PressFoto: как создавать востребованные стоковые фотографии практически «на пустом месте» разложил по полочкам полный цикл создания в студии коммерчески успешных стоковых изображений различной тематики с одной моделью (от макияжа до показа отретушированных и готовых к загрузке изображений).

Мастер-класс Алексея Сизова Константин Игошев (PressFoto) делится секретами по обработке фотографий

Судя по заинтересованным лицам участников и без устали делающим заметки рукам, никто из присутствовавших не остался равнодушным к увиденному и услышанному в течение этих двух дней. В особенности все были довольны возможностью неформального общения со старыми знакомыми либо с гостями мероприятия. Что особенно важно, обмен опытом происходит напрямую и во многих случаях индивидуально. Все желающие, владеющие английским языком, могли во время кофе-брейка подойти и в неформальной обстановке побеседовать с гостями, задать любые вопросы с глазу на глаз и получить ответы. Для тех, кто не владеет английским в достаточной степени, во время лекций и семинаров обеспечивался синхронный перевод.

Еще раз благодарим всех участников и партнеров мероприятия!

ДО ВСТРЕЧИ НА КОНФЕРЕНЦИИ STOCKinRUSSIA’11 ОСЕНЬЮ 2011 ГОДА!!!


Скачать презентации выступающих

STOCKinRUSSIA'10

Отзывы участников

<...> благодаря конференции познакомился с Джонатаном и его работами. Великолепный мастер, достойнейший представитель традиционного ("классического", "макро") стока.

Владимир Годник

<...> мастер-класс Прессфото был выше всяких похвал. Сделано отлично. Лично мне было очень интересно и навыки ведущего-альпиниста тут совершенно не причем...

Плотников Максим

Всегда интересно послушать успешных в определенной области людей <...> в массе из всех мнений, презентаций и ответов всегда выделяется куча и кучища полезных идей и мыслей, которые дают толчок собственным выводам.

Aqua, иллюстратор

Для меня это оказалось первой возможностью посмотреть на организацию съемочного процесса как плавной, но в то же время ритмичной последовательности перетекающих друг в друга заранее продуманных и записанных сценариев...

Константин Сутягин


Читать все >

Генеральный фотопартнер
 

При участии
 

Генеральный медиа-партнер
 
Corel

Технические партнеры
 


 

Официальный медиа-партнер
 
Lowepro


 


 

Информационная поддержка
 
Lowepro


 


 


 
HP Photo Club 37 PhotoNews